Home / Bitcoin News /New York Digital Currency Taskforce Includes Ripple Director And Ethereum Co-founder

New York Digital Currency Taskforce Includes Ripple Director And Ethereum Co-founder

25 Jul 2019

Joseph Lubin, co-founder of Ethereum and Consensys, and Ryan Zagone, Ripple director of regulatory relations, have joined the new Digital Currency Taskforce established by New York regulators.

The Taskforce was created to aid New York legislators in the process of creating a regulatory framework for blockchain and cryptocurrency in the state. The new division was created back in January.

The team consists of Lubin, Zagone, and 13 other members. Six of them have been selected by the legislature and seven by the governor.

The list of appointed members by the legislature includes Sandra Ro, Global Blockchain Business Council CEO, Yaya Fanusie, adjunct fellow for The Foundation for Defense of Democracies, Yorke Rhodes, co-founder of blockchain at Microsoft, and Aaron Wright, professor at Cordoza School of Law.

The six legislative appointees for the task force were announced by Assemblymember at the Subcommittee on Internet & New Technology Clyde Vanel.

“New York was the first state in the nation to create a cryptocurrency task force to help the states and the country figure out how to properly regulate digital currency and blockchain technology…

We are excited that we’re going to have some of the premier people in blockchain technology and in cryptocurrency help guide New York state and the country, and maybe the world, on finding the right level of regulations in this space.”

The proposal which created the task force back in 2017 was introduced by Vanel in an attempt to “study and report on the potential implementation of blockchain technology in state record keeping, information storage, and service delivery.”

Featured image: PrimeResi

Source From : Coindoo News

© CoinJoker 2019 | All Rights Reserved.